I Missed Austin So Freaking Much

It’s so good to be home that I made a list of the 10 things I missed the most during my horrible six months frozen in Wisconsin’s permafrost. Makes me wonder why I ever left.

Days before my girlfriend and I skipped town, thinking it’d be for good, I picked up one of our last meals at Torchy’s Tacos (basically my food Nirvana) and casually mentioned to the girl at the register how much I was going to miss them.

“Where are you going?” she asked, looking confused.

“Wisconsin,” I said dryly.

Her expression changed from customer-service-friendly to Genuinely Shocked. “Oh my God, why!?” the girl asked.

“Got a job, a union job, it’s gonna be great but I gotta move,” I said enthusiastically.

She just sort of blinked. “Well, good luck!” the cashier chirped. “We’ll have those tacos right out for you.”

Needless to say, that union job didn’t exactly work out — my position was officially “eliminated amid a reorganization,” also known as a merger. But being back in this amazing city has really helped salve the wound.

Now that I’m finally set up well enough to get back to writing, I went ahead and put together this lil’ piece for my new home at Austin.com: “10 Things You Will Miss the Most After Leaving Austin.”

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

